Pray: Bacolod, City of Smiles

I made the Bacolod trip before the Holy Week, my titas made a joke that I started my Visita Iglesia few weeks early before the Lent. I visited 2 old churches in Bacolod and 4 in Iloilo. I lacked one more to complete the required 7.

San Sebastian Cathedral

IMG_2510

This is the first church I visited for my solo travel. It’s a beautiful cathedral. I lit some of the colorful candles to make a wish. They say that when you visit a church the first time, when you make a wish, it will come true.

IMG_2519

 

 

At the end of my travels, I hope all of my wishes came true.

San Diego Pro-Cathedral

sdr

I heard from a friend that this one is a beauty. Its structure is inspired from that of Italian churches. San Diego Pro-cathedral is the only pro-cathedral outside Manila and the only church in Negros Occidental with a dome. We have Italian architect Lucio Bernasconi to blame for its Romanesque inspiration from Italian churches.

cof

sdr

Bacolod is heavily influenced by the Spaniards and it can be seen through their old houses in Silay, churches and ancestry.

And that ends my Pray part of my Bacolod version.

Leave a Reply

